So this is really going to happen?

2 Jan

Well, the winter break is coming to a close, and I have told pretty much everyone that I am going to hike the AT next fall. So that makes it real, right? I feel like telling people my plans is the first step. I have also sent my first email to a magazine about writing an article about my trip, and that feels like a pretty important step in terms of my commitment to the plan. I need to start sending more letters to different publications as well—any suggestions? I’ll probably be setting a new blog for just AT stuff in the near future, which will be another important commitment step I think.

The more I think about it, the less this seems like a crazy idea to me. With the economy being the way it is, perhaps taking six months off wouldn’t really be hurting my shot at getting a job.

Onward.

5 Responses to “So this is really going to happen?”

  1. sorjones January 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm #

    When are you leaving? I hope to depart from Springer Mountain in early March.

  2. monike January 8, 2009 at 1:48 am #

    definitely won’t hurt you.
    you only live once.

  3. Laura January 7, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    do it! once in a lifetime opportunity. you should take the backpacking class next semester. i know you already know a lot, but it wouldn’t hurt. it’s probably full but if you email the prof saying your plans for next semester i bet she would let you in. just a suggestion

  4. Christy January 5, 2009 at 10:30 pm #

    its going to happen. awesome.

  5. Claire January 3, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Sweet snow application!!!

Leave a Reply

