Maine —> Georgia

14 Apr

Graduation is almost here, which means I am getting very close to leaving for the Appalachian Trail. I still can hardly believe I am actually going to go do this, but I pretty much have to now, considering how many people I’ve told. If I changed my mind, I think I would just go ahead and lie to everyone cause so many people are expecting me to go.

I am pretty much finished with my senior thesis, which was thrilling to write is thrilling to be done with. So, planning is about to get pretty serious here. I am shooting for setting out from Mt. Katahdin on Wednesday July 1 (sidenote: does anyone else have qualms about starting a journey on a Wednesday? I mean, it’s better than Tuesday for sure [cause nothing good every happens on Tuesdays] but I think I would rather start on a Monday). This means I will need to get to Maine a few days before that. You all know how I feel about Portland.

And then I walk. And walk. And walk. I am a little worried about not having a hiking partner. I have been reading a few things online, and it seems like a lot of people have partners. Well, maybe I shouldn’t say worried, just anxious I guess. I’m sure I’ll meet people along the way, people who will call for help when I get mauled by a bear. Or, more likely, take a picture of me next to the carcass of the bear than I just destroyed in hand-to-hand combat. Or not.

This is exciting. I know it’s super cheesy, but I keep thinking of the Chinese proverb, “A journey of a thousand miles starts with one step.” Will, this journey will be TWO thousand miles, so what good does that do me?

2 Responses to “Maine —> Georgia”

  1. Lucky May 2, 2009 at 8:18 am #

    Do not fear you will not be hiking alone.I hiked a thru hike in 07 south to north and there were lots of people on the trail.You are going the opposite way and will not start with as many hikers as I. But you are going to be starting your hike through some of the most beautiful country on the trail.Also soon after you start, you will encounter NOBO’s [north bounders].This is a good chance to ask questions about whats coming up the trail.Good luck and read my blog [Zen and the art of AT thru hiking].I will address the ups and downs of solo or partner thru hiking.

  2. Laura April 14, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    you can do it!

Leave a Reply

