Itinerary

19 Apr

So, yesterday instead of working on my history paper, I decided to plot out a rough itinerary for my time on the AT. Here’s what I’ve scoped out so far:

June 29: Fly from Dallas to Portland, Maine
June 30: Bus/taxi to Baxter State Park, home of Mt. Katahdin (the northern terminus of the AT)
July 1: Summit Mt. Katahdin
July 2 – July 15: Start hiking south through the “100 Mile Wilderness

The rest of the schedule is a little rough, but here are my estimations for where I will be over the course of the trip:

July 1 – 28: Maine
July 29 – August 29: New Hampshire/Vermont
August 30 – September 10: Massachusetts/Connecticut
September 11 – 23: New York/New Jersey
September 24 – October 8: Pennsylvania
October 9 – 11: Maryland/West Virginia (the trail barely touches these states, and hikers have created various challenges for this stretch of the trail. My personal favorite is the “Four-State Challenge,” where you leave Pennsylvania in the morning, hike through Maryland and West Virginia, and finish just on the other side of the Virginia border that night, thus stepping foot in four states in one day)
October 12 – November 17: Virginia (at almost 550 miles, Virginia is by far the longest stretch of the trail)
November 13 – December 13: Tennessee/North Carolina
November 14 – 18: Georgia
December 18: Summit Mt. Springer, the southern terminus of the trail

Overall: 2180.6 miles, 170 days, average of 13 miles per day. Hopefully I will actually complete things sooner than expected and be finished by Thanksgiving, but for planning purposes I would rather be on the conservative side of things.

A lot of you have talked about joining me for a stetch of the way, which will be great. Pick out a time when you are available, email me/leave a comment below, and we will see what we can do!

2 Responses to “Itinerary”

  1. Steven Cutbirth April 28, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Bob,

    I should be graduating on August 15h and possibly going to the UK for a while after graduation. So the time that would best fit for me is:

    August 30 – September 10: Massachusetts/Connecticut
    September 11 – 23: New York/New Jersey
    September 24 – October 8: Pennsylvania

    Im not for sure exactly what days I would be joining you but its somewhere in that range.

  2. Claire April 19, 2009 at 10:51 pm #

    This seems so real now by having an outline laid out of where you want to be on parts of the trail. How exciting!

    Depending on what grade I will be teaching next year, my students and I might be studying geography of the United States. I will for sure touch of where the Appalachian Trail is located and how you can hike it. Who knows, I might spark some kids’ interest to follow your dream!

Leave a Reply

