A Few Notes

17 May

There is just a lot going on in my life right now and I can not really formulate it into a cohesive post, so I am just going to put it all down in a list. Enjoy.

1. I just grajitated graduated this morning. This is exciting, but also really sad. Which is how I want to feel. If I was only sad, then it would mean I have nothing to look forward to. And if I was only happy about graduating, then it would mean that I didn’t like college. So feeling excited/sad is just the best way to feel, even if it leaves me in a lot of tension.

2. I said goodbye to most of my friends over the past week. This was mainly just sad, not very exciting. I know that I am going to meet new people and have great friends in the future, but these friends are just so nice, and I like the features they come with, and I don’t want to learn how to get along with new people when I am just so comfortable here. We’ve been busy partying/camping/tubing/talking/hugging/crying/swimming/etc., trying to wring every bit of joy out of our last few days together. It’s exhausting, but worth it. To all of my friends, I say I love you dearly and will miss you greatly and hope to see you all very soon! The Baylor Studs better have a Christmas Party this year.

3. Bear attacks? See below.

4. Yes, I have read Into the Wild. No, I have not seen Deliverence. Whenever I tell people about hiking the AT, they invariably mention these two books/movies, and I make the same lame joke about not dying in the wilderness at the hands of inbred psychopaths or poison berries. Stop worrying everyone, I’m going to be fine. I am a College Graduate.

5. No I will not carry a gun (ahem, Ryan). The AT is considerably safer than the rest of America.

6. People keep asking me, “How will you eat on the trail?” Answer 1: “I’m going to forage for nuts and berries, and supplement my diet with the occasional bear or two. Answer 2: “I am carrying six months worth of Cliff Bars.” Answer 3 (the real answer): I am going to premake about two-thirds of my meals, box them up, and have them mailed to me a week’s worth at a time. I will purchase the other third along the way.

7. I might be going to grad school abroad in 2010 through a Rotary Foundation Ambassadorial Scholarship. I won’t find out if I got it until August, but it would be pretty great if I did!

That’s all I got. But I leave you with this video to think upon:

4 Responses to “A Few Notes”

  1. Claire May 19, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    Great post! I am without a doubt that we will all stay in touch. It’s just something that is instilled in us. Knowing the Dallas kids, we will probably all meet up in the few days.

  2. Laura May 19, 2009 at 11:11 am #

    i still think you should bring bear mace

  3. Julia May 18, 2009 at 2:13 am #

    Glad we got to say goodbye, Robert. But it’s not goodbye, right? Here’s to the next 4 years–the next 20 years–eternity!!! 🙂

    Take care, grandpa . . . and I will be sending out an e-mail soon with details about a trip to Billy Bob’s . . . !

    Grandma

  4. Jennifer Shepperd May 17, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Excited to stay updated with your adventure, hope I see you soon!

Leave a Reply

