Packing list

30 May

For those of you wondering what I might be carrying with me, take a look at my packing list below. It’s still a work in progress, I am sure there is something very vital missing off of it, like a tent or rain jacket or something. Laura, Ryan, and everyone else who keeps pressuring me, THERE IS STILL NO GUN ON THE LIST! Once I have assembled everything, I’m going to go through the list with a scale and measure how much each item weighs, figure out what is just too heavy to carry, how I can shave off a few key ounces here and there.

GEAR
Backpack
Sleeping bag + stuff sack
Thermarest
Tent
Bivy sack
Pocket knife
Bear bag
Rope
Small first-aid kit

KP
Stove + Fuel
Pot (1?)
Pot holder
Alcohol-based hand sanitizer
Soap
Scrubber
Towel
Bowl
Spoon
Water filtration system
Water bottles (4)
Bladder

CLOTHES
Shorts (2)
T-Shirts (2)
Long underwear (2)
Socks (2)
Underwear (3)
Fleece jacket (1)
Rain jacket (1)
Rain pants (1)
Gloves (1)
Homey-hat (1)
Boots (1)
Crocs (1)
Bandanas (3)

PERSONAL/HYGIENE
First-aid kit
Toothbrush + toothpaste
Toilet paper
Bible
Book (1)
Notepad (1)
Mechanical pencil (2)
Wallet + cash + credit card + driver’s license

ELECTRONICS
Headlamp + extra batteries (1)
Camera + extra memory stick (1) + extra batteries (1) + charger + bag + tripod
iPod
iPhone + charger
Solar charger

MISC. [these are luxuries that I might not bring because of weight considerations]
Slack-line kit
Mandolin + picks + tuner + case + strings
Hammock
Pipe + tobacco + tool + cleaners

When compared to how exciting my trip is (hopefully) going to be, it’s kind of funny how mundane alot of the pre-departure stuff is. Boring things like how many ounces a toothbrush weighs or the caloric content of a cup of rice are now very important and interesting to me.

For those who are counting, I am one month and one day from my first day on the trail!

UPDATE: New blog theme, trying it on for size.

2 Responses to “Packing list”

  1. Molly June 2, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

    why are you bringing an ipod when you have an iphone?

  2. Laura May 30, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    For the record, I have NOT been pressuring you to bring a gun. I have been pressuring you to bring bear mace. I would be afraid of accidently shooting a person or myself if I brought a gun

Leave a Reply

