The Moment of Truth

18 Jun

I just got back from the YMCA where I was using their scale to weigh my pack. Without food or water (so just gear) it weighs in at 32 pounds. So, when you add food and water (which is of variable weight), I’m looking at 55 pounds or so. This is about ten pounds heavier than I was hoping. So, now comes the time where I ruthlessly dissect my gear and see what I need and what I don’t. Let’s take a poll: what should I leave behind? Sleeping bag? Tent? Extra pants? Long underwear? Or all of the above? My vote is the first aid kit–what’s the worst that could happen?

UPDATE: I just dropped off my pack at UPS and it is on it’s way to Maine! I was able to shed a few pounds off its weight, but it’s still a little heavier than I was aiming for. Oh well, not the end of the world.

One Response to “The Moment of Truth”

  1. Christy June 21, 2009 at 6:33 am #

    Wait–why did you ship your pack as opposed to taking it with you on the plane? knives?

Leave a Reply

