We Are Headed North

20 Aug

Load the car and write the note
Grab your bag and grab your coat
Tell the ones that need to know
We are headed north

–  The Avett Brothers, “I and Love and You”

So. Two days. I am getting excited. And I am getting sad. Probably too many good-byes/listening to too much moody music. I’ve left for long trips before plenty of times before, but this is probably the toughest that I can remember, just because I’ll be gone for so long. And the Atlantic Ocean is pretty daunting too.

I have to keep reminding myself though that the world is much smaller than it once was. I was hanging out with my grandparents this afternoon, and we got to looking through some of their old scrap books from the war years. My grandmother saved every postcard, letter, telegram, and newspaper clipping Daddy Keith sent her from his six months in England. No email, no skype, hardly even telephone calls. That’s pretty amazing.

Last fall, my friend Josh Carney over at UBC gave this great sermon on the Parable of the Talents. He talked about how the master had entrusted each of his slaves with talents, and how one of the slaves simply buried his talent out of fear of his master’s wrath if he were to lose it. And although he was able to return to the master what was his, the master was still angry because he had wasted the opportunity to make something more of them. God sometimes puts things in our laps, like a year abroad, and he wants us to make the most of those opportunities. He doesn’t want us to turn our back on these moments because we are afraid to try. These opportunities are not gifts, but investments for which He demands repayment with interest. I hope that I am up to the task.

One Response to “We Are Headed North”

  1. Molly August 23, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Bob, I think you, more than most people I know, are excellent at making the most of opportunities. For realsys. Miss you already buddy.

Leave a Reply

